Torched Bud

It has been a while since I posted photos but I came back to my hometown and saw our backyard blooming with our family flower: Red Torch Ginger.

Just a bit of a backstory, we found this plant from years ago, the name unknown even to locals, at a charity event in Bentuco, Gubat, Sorsogon City. It’s height caught our attention as well as its color.

My father researched it for a while and found out that its common to Malay countries in Asia, where they actually eat the bud or simply accompany it with their local dishes.

Since then, we’ve always set this flower on the table.

The name ‘Red Torch Ginger’ has a certain power and association with its appearance. True enough, it does look like a torch, considering its long stem and once the flower blooms, it does appear to be a torch.

I’ve provided a lot of photos, as I love macro photography.

img_0156
F-13 | 1/200 sec | ISO 1600 | 70mm
img_0162
F-5.6 | 1/1250 sec | ISO 1600 | 64mm
img_0172
F-5.6 | 1/2000 sec | ISO 1600 | 80mm
img_0177
F-5.6 | 1/2000 sec | ISO – 800 | 80 mm

Now, photography-wise, I intended to capture the transparency of the light beaming through the petals, ultimately emphasizing the vibrant color of the Red Torch Ginger. I did the best I could with Fifty (that’s the name of my camera, a 350D Canon which is pretty old).

I would appreciate some feedbacks on my photos left at the comment section. I’d like to capture better photos next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

